Tellco Logo
Tellco header image

Long-term view, dynamic implementation

Tellco pkPRO is a semi-autonomous collective foundation. The risks of disability and death have been reinsured with an insurance company. The retirement capital is managed dynamically but conservatively, and our portfolio contains a relatively high equity component (18% to 25%). This allows us to earn a higher yield in the long term, even when markets are very volatile. The process of investing the pension capital is a closed system: the employee benefits assets and income earned on these assets remain with the foundation and benefit only the insured.

Generally speaking, a funding deficiency can occur, but if the funding ratio falls below 90%, rehabilitation measures are immediately instigated. To avoid a funding deficiency in the long term, surpluses are used, among others, to raise a value fluctuation reserve.

In contrast to the so-called capital guarantee granted by life insurance companies – which only covers a certain percentage of an investment, subject to the requirement that 10% of the investment income be passed on to the insurance – the investment model applied by the collective foundation Tellco pkPRO has the potential to earn a bigger return with lower costs and administrative expenses.
 

Interest

The board of trustees of Tellco pkPRO fixes the interest rate for the current year in December, basing its decision on the forecast for the annual result as well as the following principles: If the foundation’s funding ratio is expected to be more than 97.5%, the retirement assets earn interest at the BVG minimum interest rate determined by the Federal Council. If the funding ratio is between 90% and 97.5%, the board of trustees will decide to apply a lower interest rate or even a zero interest rate. If the funding ratio is less than 90%, rehabilitation measures are implemented immediately.
 

Interest Rate Restructuring Graph
 

Surplus model

Surpluses are used to raise reserves to cushion fluctuations on the markets and are also paid out to the insured during the surplus distribution process. According to the regulations of Tellco pkPRO, from a funding ratio of 105% the foundation’s excess income is divided equally between the value fluctuation reserves of the affiliated pension funds (weighted) and the value fluctuation reserve of the foundation. From a funding ratio of 112.5%, the net profit is credited in full to the uncommitted funds of the pension funds, who can use these funds as they choose for their insured.
 

Surplus Model Graph
 

Termination of contract

If an affiliation contract is terminated and the funding ratio of the pension fund is less than 97.5%, the vested benefits are reduced by the amount of the funding deficiency (imputation principle). The mandatory retirement assets, however, may not be reduced. The available value fluctuation reserve or uncommitted funds of the pension fund are used to reduce or eliminate the deficiency. If the funding ratio is between 97.5% and 102.5%, the pension fund is entitled to the uncommitted funds. From a funding ratio of more than 105%, the foundation’s value fluctuation reserve and uncommitted funds are added to the vested benefits on a pro rata basis.
 

Graph Termination of Contract Graph
 

Investments

An employee benefits scheme needs a long-term investment strategy that complies with the provisions of the Ordinance on Occupational Retirement, Survivors’ and Disability Pension Plans (BVV2). Due diligence obligations, security and diversification take centre stage. An important objective is to generate an appropriate and long-term return that is as stable as possible for the beneficiaries so that all pension and payment obligations can be met at all times.

It is the responsibility of the board of trustees to determine the investment strategy and bandwidths for the different asset classes. The investment strategy of pension fund pro is conservative. It is reviewed annually by the board of trustees and the investment committee with the help of an asset and liability model (ALM). For tactical decisions, the board of trustees dictates the bandwidths per asset class to the investment committee.

The investment strategy of Tellco pkPROtracks the BVG-25 Index 2000 of Bank Pictet & Cie, Geneva. It is just as conservative as the strategy of the index, which excludes both dramatic gains and excessive losses. The long-term objective is to exceed the BVG-25 Index 2000 with a comparable exposure to risk. Currently, Tellco pkPRO retains the freedom to deviate from the BVG-25 Index 2000 with its relatively strong focus on bonds and apply a balanced portfolio approach in order to sustainably increase its yields.
 

Asset classes Bandwidths Strategy Benchmark*
  Min. Max.    
Money market 0% 10% 5% 0%
CH bonds 0% 40% 10% 60%
Global bonds 0% 20% 5% 15%
Convertible bonds 0% 8% 5% 0%
Loans and mortgages 0% 10% 0% 0%
CH equities 0% 20% 11% 10%
Global equities 0% 20% 11% 15%
CH real estate 20% 35% 33% 0%
Alternative investments 0% 30% 20% 0%
Money market
Bandwidths Min. 0%
* Pictet BVG-25 Index 2000
 

The latest key figures, including return and funding ratio, are available here:
 

Monthly performance / funding ratio

 

Year 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008
Jan 0.2 0.24 -0.87 -2.18 -0.02 1.60 1.11 1.27 0.15 -0.49 -2.06
Feb -0.73 1.17 -0.89 2.54 0.94 0.77 0.94 0.51 0.93 -2.25 -0.70
Mar -0.08 0.64 0.63 0.42 0.44 1.07 0.43 -0.46 0.77 1.46 -1.90
Apr 1.11 0.81 0.54 0.14 0.50 0.91 -0.20 0.03 0.50 3.03 1.28
May -0.35 0.38 0.99 0.14 1.20 0.45 -0.47 -0.42 -0.32 0.67 0.05
Jun 0.16 -0.26 -0.51 -1.27 0.17 -1.89 0.79 -1.14 -2.41 1.16 -2.05
Jul 0.83 1.06 0.92 1.73 0.22 0.92 1.55 -2.85 1.42 2.80 1.08
Aug -0.25 -0.05 0.60 -1.61 1.00 -0.36 0.49 -1.12 -0.90 1.23 1.19
Sep 0.2 0.22 0.15 -0.66 0.35 0.97 0.69 0.65 1.09 0.83 -3.21
Oct   1.06 -0.34 2.07 0.38 1.23 0.08 1.75 1.23 -0.38 -3.62
Nov   0.1 0.30 1.25 1.01 0.36 0.52 0.20 -0.94 0.63 2.43
Dec   -0.02 0.86 -1.13 0.45 -0.06 0.47 1.17 -0.01 0.80 -1.01
YTD 1.1 5.48 2.51 1.31 6.81 6.07 6.57 -0.94 1.44 9.89 -8.49
YTD Bench -0.72 5.19 2.64 0.50 9.45 4.43 7.58 1.61 1.31 11.74 -9.88
FR 102.1 102.32) 101.4 101.7 105.8 102.0 98.01) 95.4 97.2 97.3 91.0
UI_pkPRO_investmentsAndPensionModel_content_p_4a
YTD = performance since 1 January of the calendar year
Bench  = benchmark Pictet BVG 25
FR = funding ratio
1) Reported funding ratio as of December 31st 2012, taking into consideration the reduction of the technical interest rate from 3.5% to 2.5%. If the technical interest rate had not be reduced, the provisional funding ratio would have been above 100%.
2) Reported funding ratio as of December 31st 2017, taking into consideration the reduction of the technical interest rate from 2.25% to 1.75%.

 

Quarterly overview of funding ratio

 

Year FR
31.03.2011 98.1%
30.06.2011 96.4%
30.09.2011 93.0%
31.12.2011 95.4%
Year FR
31.03.2012 97.3%
30.06.2012 97.6%
30.09.2012 99.9%
31.12.2012 98.0%1)
Year FR
31.03.2013 100.9%
30.06.2013 100.0%
30.09.2013 101.1%
31.12.2013 102.0%
Year FR
31.03.2014 102.8%
30.06.2014 104.0%
30.09.2014 105.1%
31.12.2014 105.8%
Year FR
31.03.2015 105.9%
30.06.2015 104.2%
30.09.2015 102.9%
31.12.2015 101.7%
Year FR
31.03.2016 99.8%
30.06.2016 100.3%
30.09.2016 101.4%
31.12.2016 101.4%2)
Year FR
31.03.2017 103.0%
30.06.2017 103.5%
30.09.2017 104.2%
31.12.2017 102.3%3)
Year FR
31.03.2018 101.2%
30.06.2018 101.7%
30.09.2018 102.1%
31.12.2018  
UI_pkPRO_investmentsAndPensionModel_content_p_7a
1)  Reported funding ratio as of December 31st 2012, taking into consideration the reduction of the technical interest rate from 3.5% to 2.5%. If the technical interest rate had not be reduced, the provisional funding ratio would have been above 100%.
2)  Coverage ratio shown as of 31.12.2016, taking into account the reduction in the technical interest rate from 2.5% to 2.25%.
3)  Coverage ratio shown as of 31.12.2017, taking into account the reduction in the technical interest rate from 2.25% to 1.75%.
© Tellco Ltd
Tellco Ltd, Bahnhofstrasse 4
P.O. Box 713, CH-6431 Schwyz
t +41 58 442 12 91, info@tellco.ch
LinkedIn
Switch: Mobile / Desktop
© Tellco Ltd

Tellco Logo
Tellco header image

Langfristig konzipiert, dynamisch umgesetzt

Tellco pkPRO ist eine teilautonome Sammelstiftung. Die Risiken für Invaliditätsleistungen und Todesfälle sind bei einer Versicherungsgesellschaft rückversichert. Die Alterskapitalien werden dynamisch, aber konservativ verwaltet. Somit ist auch ein höherer Aktienanteil (18 bis 25 Prozent) in unserem Portfolio zu finden. Dies erlaubt auch im Falle von Volatilität an den Märkten langfristig einen höheren Ertrag. Bei der Kapitalanlage besteht ein geschlossener Kreislauf: Die Mittel der beruflichen Vorsorge, inklusive deren Erträge, verbleiben in der Stiftung und kommen ausschliesslich den Versicherten zu Gute.

Eine Unterdeckung ist grundsätzlich möglich. Unterschreitet diese jedoch die Schwelle von 90 Prozent, werden unverzüglich Sanierungsmassnahmen eingeleitet. Um eine Unterdeckung langfristig zu vermeiden, werden aus den Überschüssen unter anderem Wertschwankungsreserven gebildet.

Im Gegensatz zur so genannten Kapitalgarantie der Lebensversicherungsgesellschaften – die nur einen bestimmten Prozentsatz der Einlagen abdeckt und im Rahmen derer 10 Prozent des Anlageertrags an die Versicherung abgeführt werden – trägt das Anlagemodell der Sammelstiftung der Tellco pkPRO das Potenzial für höhere Erträge bei geringerem Kosten- und Verwaltungsaufwand.
 

Verzinsung

Der Stiftungsrat der Tellco pkPRO legt den Zinssatz für das laufende Jahr jeweils im Dezember fest. Dabei stützt er sich auf die Prognose für das Jahresergebnis sowie auf folgende Grundsätze: Liegt der voraussichtliche Deckungsgrad der Stiftung über 97,5 Prozent, dann werden die Altersguthaben mit dem vom Bundesrat festgelegten BVG-Mindestsatz verzinst. Liegt der Deckungsgrad zwischen 90 und 97,5 Prozent, kann der Stiftungsrat eine Minderverzinsung oder sogar eine Nullverzinsung beschliessen. Bei einem Deckungsgrad unter 90 Prozent werden unverzüglich Sanierungsmassnahmen eingeleitet.
 

Interest Rate Restructuring Graph
 

Überschussmodell

Überschüsse dienen einerseits der Bildung von Reserven, um der Volatilität an den Märkten entgegenzuwirken. Andererseits werden sie im Rahmen der Überschussverteilung an die Versicherten ausbezahlt. Gemäss Reglement der Tellco pkPRO wird der Ertragsüberschuss der Stiftung ab einem Deckungsgrad von 105 Prozent je hälftig auf die Wertschwankungsreserven der Vorsorgewerke (gewichtet) und auf die Wertschwankungsreserven der Stiftung verteilt. Ab einem Deckungsgrad von 112,5 Prozent wird der Reingewinn vollständig den freien Mitteln der Vorsorgewerke gutgeschrieben, welche von den Vorsorgewerken autonom für Ihre Versicherten verwendet werden können.
 

Surplus Model Graph
 

Vertragsauflösung

Wird ein Anschlussvertrag aufgelöst, und der Deckungsgrad des Vorsorgewerks liegt unter 97,5 Prozent, dann wird die Austrittsleistung im Umfang der Unterdeckung reduziert (im Anrechnungsprinzip). Dabei dürfen die obligatorischen Altersguthaben nicht geschmälert werden. Vorhandene Wertschwankungsreserven oder freie Mittel des Vorsorgewerks werden zur Reduktion oder Eliminierung des Fehlbetrags herangezogen. Liegt der Deckungsgrad zwischen 97,5 und 102,5 Prozent, hat das Vorsorgewerk Anspruch auf die freien Mittel. Bei einem Deckungsgrad von mehr als 105 Prozent werden anteilsmässig die Wertschwankungsreserven sowie die freien Mittel der Stiftung mitgegeben.
 

Graph Termination of Contract Graph
 

Anlagen

Eine Anlagestrategie in der beruflichen Vorsorge hat langfristigen Charakter und trägt den Bestimmungen der Verordnung über die berufliche Alters-, Hinterlassenen- und Invaliden-vorsorge (BVV2) Rechnung. Dabei stehen Sorgfaltspflicht, Sicherheit und Diversifikation im Vordergrund. Ein wichtiges Ziel ist es, langfristig eine angemessene und möglichst stabile Rendite für die Destinatäre zu erwirtschaften, um jederzeit den Leistungs- und Zahlungsverpflichtungen nachkommen zu können.

Es ist Aufgabe des Stiftungsrats, die Anlagestrategie und die Bandbreiten der Anlagekategorien festzulegen. Die Anlagestrategie der Tellco pkPRO ist konservativ ausgelegt. Sie wird jährlich vom Stiftungsrat zusammen mit dem Investment Committee mit Hilfe eines Asset und Liability Modells (ALM) überprüft. Für taktische Entscheidungen gibt der Stiftungsrat dem Investment Committee Bandbreiten pro Anlagekategorie vor.

Die Anlagestrategie der Tellco pkPRO orientiert sich am BVG-25-Index 2000 der Genfer Bank Pictet und Cie. Sie ist ähnlich konservativ wie der Index, welcher sowohl übermässige Gewinnsteigerungen als auch massive Kursverluste ausschliesst. Das langfristige Ziel ist, den BVG-25-Index 2000 bei vergleichbarem Risiko zu übertreffen. Zurzeit beansprucht die Tellco pkPRO die Freiheit, vom relativ stark in Obligationen gewichteten BVG-25-Index 2000 abzurücken, um mit einem ausgewogeneren Balanced-Portfolio-Ansatz auf nachhaltige Weise die Rendite zu verbessern.

Anlagekategorie Bandbreite Strategie Benchmark*
  Min. Max.    
Geldmarkt 0% 10% 5% 0%
Obligationen CH 0% 40% 10% 60%
Obligationen Welt 0% 20% 5% 15%
Wandelanleihen 0% 8% 5% 0%
Darlehen und Hypotheken 0% 10% 0% 0%
Aktien Schweiz 0% 20% 11% 10%
Aktien Welt 0% 20% 11% 15%
Immobilien Schweiz 20% 35% 33% 0%
Alternative Anlagen 0% 30% 20% 0%
Geldmarkt
Bandbreite Min. 0%
Bandbreite Max. 10%
Strategie 5%
Benchmark* 0%
Obligationen CH
Bandbreite Min. 0%
Bandbreite Max. 40%
Strategie 10%
Benchmark* 60%
Obligationen Welt
Bandbreite Min. 0%
Bandbreite Max. 20%
Strategie 5%
Benchmark* 15%
Wandelanleihen
Bandbreite Min. 0%
Bandbreite Max. 8%
Strategie 5%
Benchmark* 0%
Darlehen und Hypotheken
Bandbreite Min. 0%
Bandbreite Max. 20%
Strategie 11%
Benchmark* 10%
Aktien Schweiz
Bandbreite Min. 0%
Bandbreite Max. 20%
Strategie 11%
Benchmark* 10%
Aktien Welt
Bandbreite Min. 0%
Bandbreite Max. 20%
Strategie 11%
Benchmark* 15%
Immobilien Schweiz
Bandbreite Min. 20%
Bandbreite Max. 35%
Strategie 33%
Benchmark* 0%
Alternative Anlagen
Bandbreite Min. 0%
Bandbreite Max. 30%
Strategie 20%
Benchmark* 0%
* Pictet BVG-25 Index 2000
×
© Tellco AG
Tellco AG, Bahnhofstrasse 4
Postfach 713, CH-6431 Schwyz
t +41 58 442 12 91, info@tellco.ch
LinkedIn
Ansicht: Mobile / Desktop
© Tellco AG